A few thoughts while watering my plants.

I love plants.  I have several spread out through almost every room in my house. I’ve never really been one to have a naturally green thumb but I do believe those skills of mine can be honed.  This year, with all this extra time, I think is my year. Everyday I go around to all my plants to check on them. I do what I need to do to care for them well and have been finding it extremely satisfying to watch my little green babies grow. But today when I walked around, I started wondering about what this relationship may look like from their vantage point.
I wondered if they worry when I come to check their soil each day. I wondered if they trusted me that I was meeting their needs; even if it didn’t look exactly the same everyday or plant to plant.
I wondered if they got jealous of each other watching some grow quicker than others. I wondered if they doubted if they’re all being loved equally by me when this happens, even though I know they are.
I wondered if the seeds knew that all the work, and stress, they’re enduring was helping them to become who they were always meant to be.
I wondered if my plants knew how much I delight in them. I wondered if they knew that when I am surrounded by them I am exponentially happier than I would be otherwise.
I wonder if I’m wondering all these things because I’m suddenly realizing that perhaps I may be a plant of the greatest Gardener there ever has been. Perhaps I worry if my plants trust me because I know that sometimes I struggle to trust my Gardener. Perhaps I worry that my plants get jealous of each other because I know that I get jealous of my brothers and sisters all the time worrying that maybe our Gardener loves them more than me. Perhaps I worry if my seeds question how worth it their hardships in growing are because I know that I have my own questions amidst growth. And perhaps I wonder if my plants know that I delight in them because I long to trust wholeheartedly that my Gardener delights in me.
It would be foolish for me to assume that I could ever fully understand how our Creator feels about me. What I do know is that today I’m a little more trusting, a little less prone to jealousy, a little more willing to face trials of many kinds, and a little more willing to believe that I am called beloved.
Maybe this all only makes sense to me; however, I believe God is capable of using anything and anyone to help reveal more of who He is. Today, I’m thankful for the simple revelations of watering my plants.

Leave a comment